All of Us

All of Us

Saturday, July 30, 2005

Meme

Another Meme


Got this one from Kathy at Our Life

10 years ago:
Living in the first home we owned in Tempe, AZ. I was 5 months pregnant with L, our 3rd child. Things were fairly smooth and uneventful--no moves or home renovations going on.

5 years ago:
Spent half the summer visiting family and friends and Michigan, wishing we could move back, grieving for Daryl's father, who died on May 5. We had 5 kids, ages newborn to 8 years old.

1 year ago:
5 months pregnant with A, still suprised! Getting ready to go on vacation--a week on the shore of Lake Huron On the Georgian Bay in "Cottage Country" Ontario, Canada. About to begin this blog.

Yesterday (Friday):
Took 4 kids to Rainbow Creations, a ceramics shop where we chose an item to paint, painted it, and left it there to be glazed and fired. It was really fun. I don't usually enjoy arts and crafts very much, but it was great to be creative. Came home and visited with my friend that had babysat K. and A. while we were gone. Celebrated the official beginning of our vacation (first week is "vacation at home") with Mojitos for the grownups and a variety of appetizer/finger foods for dinner: chicken wings, tempura shrimp, french fries, orange chicken and pierogies.

Today:
Finished a baking project begun 2 years ago! I had mixed the dry ingredients for a quadruple recipe of blueberry coffeecake and was short some of the liquid ingredients. Put it in a large tupperware in the freezer (so the flour bugs wouldn't get in it) and there it has sat until today. I could only finish this project during blueberry season, when they are cheap enough to purchase in huge quantities (I needed 12 cups!)
Took the girls and joined Costco warehouse club. I was a member in AZ and liked it, but there wasn't one nearby until last December, when this one opened (still a 25 minute drive away). A recent newspaper article about what an ethical corporation they are (they pay their employees extremely well and give them excellent benefits and never mark up merchandise more than 15%) while still being highly profitable, much to the analysts' dismay, inspired me to join. Enjoyed shopping, lunching on all the free samples, and didn't stray much from my list, which is easy to do there with impulse purchases.
Came home and had dinner with Grandma and 2 cousins who came to visit, bringing a birthday cake for me!

Tomorrow:
Make croissant french toast for breakfast, attend mass, walk with a friend.

snacks I enjoy:
cheese (especially goat and sheep's milk cheeses) with wine, fruit, sweet breads/coffecake/muffins with coffee, yogurt with granola and dried fruit, fruit smoothies/blended coffee drinks.

5 things I would do with a $100,000,000:
Put away money for children's college expenses; complete renovations on our house, including building a garage and barn; buy a home in Northern Michigan on Lake Michigan; help relatives in need; donate to charities

5 locations I’d like to run away to:
Paris; Boulder, CO; Ithaca, NY; New Zealand; Nova Scotia.

5 bad habits I have:
Wasting time, talking on the phone too long, procrastinating, being late, fantasizing about the next baby.

5 things I like doing:
spending time with my dh and kids, cooking, playing the flute, socializing with good friends, reading a good book.

5 things I would never wear:
cowboy hat, platform shoes, bikini, thong underwear, anything braless.

5 TV shows I like:
Six Feet Under, Desperate Housewives, What Not to Wear, Babies: Special Delivery, Seinfeld reruns.

5 biggest joys at the moment:
Having this large, fantastic family; watching my kids interact with each other and develop relationships; seeing how my older children adore the little ones; living in a beautiful setting and a place I feel at home; nursing my babies

5 favorite toys:
computer, books, Vitamixer, air conditioner, notebook and pen

1 comment:

Marion said...

Where did you find that article about Costco? It's great to know that they are an ethical company!!

Tell the kiddos I say hi :)

About Me

My photo
SE Michigan, United States
Mother to 10 fabulous kids, ages 4 to 21 years! Married for 26 years to my best friend.

Followers

Search This Blog